From A Place Of Love


I want this to come from a space of love, not condemnation, not self righteousness or even pretending that I have it all figured out in this area. I know that I am a lot closer to where I want to be than I was before and I want to keep making strides. I want others to as well. I guess the theme is intentional living. A friend just hit me with that the other day. I noticed her shine and she noticed mine and remarked that we are both striving to be more intentional these days.

Anyway, what does it mean to live an intentional life. TO ME, it simply means a life with thought and purpose. You are actively choosing how you spend your time and dimes. It is no easy feat in this world we live in. It is so easy to get caught up and distracted. There are many who consciously and subconsciously want to dim the light in others. I really think it stems from a place of dissatisfaction with themselves.


We all have choices. We need to exercise those choices. Actively exercise our rights to choose. (This not on some national election type stuff since it is that season. This is on some personal, self work) We have to choose what we wear, how and why we wear it. Our attitudes. The people and environments we put ourselves in and around. We have to evaluate the quality (not quantity) of our commitments. All of these will determine the course of our lives. We cannot just drift through life, we have to actively bring what we envision into reality. (For the record, I don’t mean this American dream type stuff for a lack of better words, but that’s another blog post).  It may mean, it will mean, letting go of people and places. And just because you let go doesn’t mean it has to be a nasty split. We are all evolving, or should be, so just think of it as a mismatch of energy for the time being and if, and when, the timing is right it will be again in a more healthy beneficial way for all involved.

So to make sound choices you have to examine yourself. You must be honest, or it is pointless. Give yourself the time and energy you deserve, don’t rush this process and yes it is on-going. Some questions you may ask yourself:

  • What are my needs?
  • current passions?
  • talents?
  • abilities?
  • weaknesses?
  • What do I want to learn?

*There are more abstract questions one can ask like what is my purpose? Why did God create me? What do I have to contribute to the world? What do I want to contribute to the world? Just ask and try to answer some meaningful questions about who and where you are at this particular junction in your life.

Once you get clarity in that area move on and begin to take action.

Step One:

DECIDE TO LIVE YOUR LIFE. Why does this make me giggle? I guess it seems so simple yet so many are not doing it.

Step Two:

Set goals. Setting goals and sticking to them will help you stay focused on step one. Depending on where you are in the process your goals may be something as simple as wake up with an attitude of gratitude. Or not focusing on how and why others are lacking, but on yourself.

Step Three:

Stay Focused. Minimize the distractions in your life. Lord knows there are many (TV, social media, certain “friends”, clutter of the mind and space).

That’s it for now. This is Long Enough.

Be mindful that a life with good intentions is very different than living an intentional life.

“The road to hell is paved with good intentions.”

This song comes to mind Do You Know Where You’re Going To

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

